Upstairs Downstairs: Season Two

Add to Wishlist
  • Fresh scandals erupt at 165 Eaton Place with the arrival of Dr. Blanche Mottershead (Alex Kingston, Doctor Who), the sexier half sister of the late Maud, and feisty new maid Beryl (Laura Haddock). Don't miss the visit from young JFK.


    Set in the year preceding World War Two, 165 Eaton Place reopens its doors and welcomes viewers back into the enthralling lives of its inhabitants, both upstairs and down. Now a well established and thriving household in the heart of London, life in Eaton Place has moved on; Lady Agnes and Sir Hallam’s family is complete with the addition of two small children and London has settled into an uneasy peace with the apparent aversion of war. With both upstairs and downstairs harbouring life-changing secrets and the menace of war creeping ever closer, the smooth running of Eaton Place threatens to come crashing to shattering halt. However, as romance, heartbreak and secrets engulf the household, its inhabitants discover that the real threat to 165 is much closer to home.


    Episode 1 – A Faraway Country about Which We Know Nothing

    As 165 Eaton Place reopens its doors, two new arrivals make their mark. But whilst Sir Hallam's forthright aunt Blanche disrupts life upstairs, feisty new maid Beryl struggles to adjust to life in service. Meanwhile, Lady Agnes' concern for her children reveals a dark secret about Mr Pritchard. Sir Hallam's preoccupation with burgeoning Nazi Germany leads him into dangerous waters, and a chance meeting with an unexpected face unlocks a hidden desire within.

    Episode 2 – The Love that Pays the Price

    Lady Agnes catches the eye of charismatic American millionaire Caspar Landry but, as she and Sir Hallam look to their future, a tragic turn of events leaves their promised dreams, and a close family member, in jeopardy. Downstairs, Mrs Thackeray makes a momentous decision which throws the running of 165 into chaos. Blanche and Mr Amanjit continue to clash until a heart-breaking cause compels them to reconsider their differences.

    Episode 3 – A Perfect Specimen of Womanhood

    Blanche comes face to face with her former lover when a scandalous novel is published and when the passion between the pair reignites, begins to consider a life away from Eaton Place. Downstairs, Beryl's decision to take a stand causes serious ructions to the running of the house until a familiar face offers wise words. Meanwhile, when Lady Persie reveals a shocking secret to Sir Hallam, the pair get ever closer as Persie is forced to make a life changing decision about her future.

    Episode 4 – All the Things You Are

    Harry's desire to impress Beryl leads him and Johnny into the world of boxing and, as their big fight draws ever closer, the boys are determined to reign victorious. Upstairs, as she and Sir Hallam drift further apart, Lady Agnes is reacquainted with a familiar face who shows her an exciting world away from 165 Eaton Place and Sir Hallam makes a dangerous decision which will change his life forever…

    Episode 5 – The Last Waltz

    As 165 Eaton Place prepares for the Annual Servant's Ball, Mr Pritchard enjoys a romance with fellow servant Miss Whisset, and starts to wonder if there's more to life than service. With war looming, Harry has a proposition for Beryl, however a shock revelation threatens to thwart their plans. Meanwhile, as Lady Persie and Sir Hallam continue their dangerous affair, Sir Hallam is about to discover just how destructive his actions have been…

    Episode 6 – Somewhere Over the Rainbow

    On the eve of war, Beryl and Harry face a race against time to get married. Meanwhile, Mr Pritchard makes a decision which throws the running of 165 into chaos until an old face lends a helping hand. And as Lady Agnes returns to London, a dark discovery has explosive consequences for all inside Eaton Place and changes the landscape forever...

    Cast and Crew Interviews